Dealing with 'lost' directories
Sometimes, out of the blue, a pupil has lost his personal directory.
After interrogation, no pupil has deleted the directory. After
checking all pupils directories the missing directory is found inside
another pupils directory. Neither of them has done anything wrong. It's a
problem that occurs in a primary school.
The explanation is as follows. Many young children do not yet have enough
eye-hand coordination and/or enough developed motion control to properly
move and doubleclick the mouse. This can result in 'strange' errors and
'weird behaviour' of the computer, even though the machine does exactly
what it is told to do.
Moving documents to a shared directory
If you want to share files or documents with others you must either
copy the files into the shared directory or use the
As... function in the application that you use to create
or modify the file or document. If you move the file into a shared
directory, the other members of the workgroup will not be able
to use this file. This is a known issue, currently without a good
fix. If you really need to move a personal file to a shared
directory, you should still copy the file to the destination
and subsequently remove (delete) the original.